Facebook, the world’s largest social networking site, has announced that it will remove its users’ location history feature from May 31 this month.
According to reports, Facebook recently clarified in a notification sent to Android and iOS users that the website will soon have ‘Nearby Friends, Live Location and Location History and Background’. Will remove the feature.
A spokesman for Facebook confirmed that the site would remove all features related to location history by May 31, 2022, the report said.
Also Read: How to Delete Facebook Search History
According to the spokesperson, if anyone wants to go to the settings and download or delete all their location history before the said date, he will be allowed, however, after the stipulated time, the company will delete all the history itself.
The spokesperson also confirmed that although the history features on Facebook will be removed on May 31, 2022, users will be able to delete and re-download the app and download history from it by August 1, 2022.
The spokesman also clarified that the removal of location history features does not mean that Facebook will not monitor users’ locations.
According to the company, after May 31, 2022, Facebook will retain all the information, including the location history of the users, for other purposes, however, their location history will not be made live and users will not be able to use this feature on Facebook. Will be able to use.
The spokesperson said that Facebook has always been collecting users’ location history for better performance.
At the same time, the spokesperson expressed the hope that the removal of the location history features on Facebook would not cause any problems to the users, as the popularity of the said features was low anyway.